Whether you choose to eat vegan foods for health reasons or you are a lifelong vegan, you already know that sometimes it can be difficult to find wholesome natural foods that are filling. This is especially true when it comes to bread.

You may think that the only way you will get a decent loaf of bread is by putting in the time at home to bake it yourself—but there are a few things you should know before you start gathering ingredients. Here are some real answers to questions you have about vegan bread.

Where is the best place to get vegan bread?

It is only natural to assume that vegan bread can only be found at a whole foods supplier. However, what you probably do not know is there is likely a vegan bread supplier right in your hometown. Bakeries produce an array of breads, from unleavened naan to whole and hearty French and Italian.

A lot of the breads they prepare are done so with only all-vegan ingredients. For example, basic french bread boasts only water, flour, yeast, and salt. If you are looking for fresh vegan bread, be sure to stop in and ask the local bread bakery like Klosterman Baking Company and figure out your options.

Can you freeze bread if you find a wholesale supplier?

Even though vegan bread does not contain preservatives, it can be preserved by freezing. In fact, vegan breads can sometimes retain freshness better after being frozen just because they do not have as many unnatural ingredients. If you find a bakery or bread supplier away from home, do not be afraid to grab several loaves of what you want and pop them in the freezer when you get home. Just make sure the bread is sealing in a zipper bag or plastic wrap tightly.

What does it mean if bread is accidentally vegan?

When you first start to eat a vegan diet, you may hear someone say that something is accidentally vegan. This is used to describe regular food products, found in a local grocery store, that are completely vegan, but are not advertised as so. Bread is one product that can easily be accidentally vegan. As long as it does not contain additives, such as honey, eggs, or milk, bread is considered appropriate for a vegan diet.

While you eat natural foods suitable for a vegan diet, you do not have to skip out on the breads and whole grains that complete your daily diet. It may take a little looking, but the wholesome breads you crave can be found.